Accessibility links

Breaking News

Cambodia Lifts Travel Ban on Six Countries Including the U.S.

FILE: Foreign tourists board an Edelweiss Air plane bound for Zurich, Switzerland, at Phnom Penh International Airport in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, Friday, April 3, 2020. (AP Photo/Heng Sinith)

Cambodia on Wednesday lifted its travel ban on six countries, including the United States, nearly two months after the government first imposed restrictions on incoming travel due to concerns of the spread of COVID-19.

The six countries listed in the ministry’s statement released on May 20, 2020, are the United States, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Iran. These countries were part of a travel ban issued in late March, even though at the time nearly all countries were reporting cases.

The government announced this weekend that all 122 patients with COVID-19 had recovered and that there were no new cases for more than 30 days.

“All passengers, both Cambodian and foreign, travelling to Cambodia are required to have a Covid-19 free health certificate issued by health authorities recognized by their respective countries within 72 hours,” the statement reads.

Foreigners are also required to have health insurance, with at least $50,000 in coverage. This requirement excluded embassy officials and international organization staffers who hold type A and type B visas.

On arrival, the statement added, all passengers will be transferred to a waiting center for COVID-19 testing and if they are cleared they will be asked to self-quarantine for 14 days.

The government never clarified if all citizens from these countries were prevented from entering Cambodia, irrespective their country of departure.