Accessibility links

Breaking News

Cambodia Selects Judges for Khmer Rouge Tribunal

Cambodian officials have selected judges for a special, U.N.-assisted tribunal to try surviving Khmer Rouge leaders accused of war crimes.

A Cambodian Justice Ministry official and another official close to the Supreme Council of Magistracy tell VOA Khmer service that the judges include 17 Cambodians and 12 foreigners -- five from the European Union, two from the United States and others from Australia, Canada and Japan.

King Norodom Sihamoni is scheduled to officially approve the list in a ceremony on Thursday.

An estimated 1.7 million Cambodians died from starvation, overwork and execution from 1975 to 1979 when the Khmer Rouge, led by Pol Pot, controlled the country.

Pol Pot died in 1998, and so far no member of his brutal regime has been tried for crimes against humanity. The United Nations has pledged 56-million dollars to fund the tribunal.

Here's the list of the Cambodian judges and prosecutors for the Khmer Rouge tribunal that is expected to receive final approval by the Supreme Council of Magistracy chaired by King Norodom Sihamoni on May 4th 2006 at 9:00 AM (Cambodian Time)

A. Judges in the Lower Court:

1. Mr. Nil Non

2. Mr. Thou Mony

3. Mr. Ya Sokhorn

4. Mr. You Udtara (Reserve)

B. Judges in the Supreme Court:

1. H.E. Kong Srim

2. Soam Serewat

3. Sin Narith

4. Ya Narin

5. Mong Mony chakriya (Reserve)

C. Co-Investigating Judges

1. Mr. You Bunleng

2. Mr. Thong Ol (Reserve)

3. Mr. Din Seyvuthy (Reserve)

D. Co-Prosecutors

1. Mrs. Chea Leang

2. H.E. Chuon Sunleng (Reserve)

E. Pre-Trial Chamber

1. H.E. Prak Kimsan

2. H.E. Ney Thol

3. Mr. Huot Vuthy

4. Mr. Pen Pichsaly (Reserve)

List of International Judges and Prosecutors:

A. Judges in the Lower Court:

1. Ms. Silvia CARTWRIGHT (New Zealand)

2. Mr. Jean-Marc LAVERGNE (France)

3. Ms. Claudia FENZ (Austria)-Reserve

B.Judges in the Supreme Court:

1. Mr. Motoo NOGUCHI (Japan)

2. Ms. Agnieska KLONOWIECKA-MILART (Poland)

3. Mr. Chandra Nihal JAYASINGHE (Sri Lanka)

4. Mr. Martin KAROPKIN (U.S.A)-Reserve

C. Co-Investigating Judges:

1. Mr. Marcel LEMONDE (France)

2. (To Be Announced)-Reserve

D. Co-Prosecutors:

1. Mr. Robert PETIT (Canada)

2. Mr. Paul COFFEY (U.S.A)-Reserve

E. Pre-Trial Chamber:

1. Mr. Rowan DOWNING

2. Ms. Katinka LAHUIS