Accessibility links

Breaking News

National Election Committee's New Composition

PM Hun Sen and opposition Sam Rainsy party's (SRP) leader agree to change the National Election Committee (NEC) from 5 to 9 people, saying this new legislation will be submitted to the cabinet for approval on April 21, and sent to the National Assembly, alleges Mr. Sam Rainsy Thursday.

Currently NEC has 5 members: 3 members are from the Cambodian People's Party (CPP), and 2 from royalist FUNCINPEC party.

In the past NEC was criticized by lawyers, and civil society officials as not being independent and leaning toward ruling parties.

The new composition occurs after there was a political detente between Mr. Hun Sen and Mr. Sam Rainsy.

Now in the NEC, 5 members com from the CPP, 2 from FUNCINPEC, and 2 from SRP. Mr. Sam Rainsy says that now the opposition party has members in the NEC.